Hometown Boys Live

Copy the link

Hometown Boys Live

Hometown Boys Bio

One of the most celebrated Tejano/conjunto groups of their era, the Hometown Boys started out as a family band and went on to become one of most popular conjunto acts in the Southwest, despite a sad history of personal loss. Based in Lubbock, Texas, the Hometown Boys’ story began in the ’50s, when Roman Martinez, Sr., a talented bajo sexto player, married his girlfriend Maria Dolores, who was also his bandmate in a popular local group, Madrugadores del Valle. As the Martinez family grew, Roman and Maria discovered their children were also gifted musicians, and in time the parents and their six children formed a band, el Grupo Internacional de Ricky y Joe Martinez. The group had an eclectic style, capable of playing traditional acoustic music or an updated version dominated by electric instruments depending on the demands of the audience, and eventually their music evolved into a distinctive brand of conjunto. In 1990, after several siblings left the band, el Grupo Internacional was reworked into the Hometown Boys, featuring Roman Martinez, Sr. on bajo sexto, Ricky Martinez on bass guitar and lead vocals, Joe Martinez on accordion and backing vocals, Jesse Martinez on drums, and Roman Martinez, Jr. on percussion and live sound. Within a year of forming, the Hometown Boys had become popular enough to land a record deal with EMI Music, and their debut album, El Poder de una Mujer, appeared in 1991. After five successful albums for EMI, the Hometown Boys struck a new deal with Fonovisa; their first album for the label was 1995’s Luces de Nueva York, and their second, Mire Amigo, went gold after only a week in release, solidifying their reputation as one of conjunto’s most popular acts. In 1996, the Hometown Boys had the honor of being the first Hispanic act inducted into the Lubbock Music Walk of Fame, and in 1997, the tune “Joe’s Special 10” was named Best Instrumental at the 1997 Tejano Music Awards. However, 1997 also saw Roman Martinez, Jr. die unexpectedly at the age of 45. Joe Martinez suffered a heart attack not long after Roman, Jr.’s death, and he died after a performance in January 1998, only 34 years old. In 2002, an aneurysm claimed Jesse Martinez’s life, also at age 34. Maria Dolores Martinez, the group’s matriarch, succumbed to lingering illness in 2007. That same year, Ricky Martinez also passed after a period of ill health. Despite struggling with tragedy after tragedy, Roman Martinez, Sr. kept the group together, still playing bajo sexto and recruiting other family members and likeminded musicians to keep the lineup together. The group continued to enjoy the support of their fans in the Lone Star State, who nicknamed the group “the Homies.” The band’s lineup in 2017 included Elias Aredondo as lead singer, Rosalinda Martinez and Marky Lee Riojas as backing vocalists, Anthony Trevinio on accordion, Bobby Martinez on bass, and Ruben Rodriguez on drums, as well as Roman Martinez, Sr. As always, the Hometown Boys maintained a busy recording and performing schedule, and in 2017 they issued a concert album, Un Grito! Live, Vol. 1. ~ Mark Deming


  • Un Grito! Live, Vol. 1 (2017)
  • 25 Golden Hits (2007)
  • Cuando el Destino (2006)
  • La Traicionera (2006)
  • Echame a Mi La Culpa (2006)
  • Por un Amor (2003)
  • Live in Monterrey (2003)
  • Grandes Exitos (2003)
  • Recordando Joe Martinez (2003)
  • Ten Years Diez Anos (2001)
  • Hometown Boys [1998] (1998)
  • Eres Mia (1997)
  • Hometown Boys [1995] (1995)
  • Mire Amigo (1995)
  • Cartas de Amor (1995)
  • Mi Ranchito (1995)
  • Luces De Nueva York (1995)
  • 20 Golden Hits (1995)
  • Live (1995)
  • Dos Cosas (1995)